timeline of world history

Then Again

The Ancient Period The Peripheral Period

The Center Period

The Global Period

  • Age of World Wars
  • After the Cold War


© David Koeller.  All rights reserved.

Liberal Parties Dominate National Politics





Great Britain


Primary Sources

Secondary Sources


1851: Louis Napoleon Bonaparte is elected President of the Second French Republic.

1852: Louis Napoleon Bonaparte proclaims the Second French Empire.

1854-56: The Crimean War

1859-1860: Construction of the Suez Canal.

1859: War of Italian Unification [Franco-Sardinian War].



1864: Napoleon III adopts the policy of a "liberal empire."

1861: Progressive Party is formed.

1862: Otto von Bismarck is named Prime Minister of Prussia.

1867: The Liberal Party splits with the formation of the National Liberal Party.

1867: The British Parliament passes the Reform Bill of 1867.

1868-1874: William Gladstone, head of the Liberal Party, is Prime Minister.


1870: France is defeated in the Franco-Prussian War.

1870: The Third French Republic is established.

1870: Bismarck begins the Kulturkampf.

1871: Formation of the German Empire.

1878: Anti-Socialist legislation.

1874-1880: Benjamin Disraeli, head of the Conservative Party, is Prime Minister.


1889: General Georges Boulanger threatens the French Republic. 1883-1884: Social legislation: national sickness and accident insurance.

1884: British farm workers acquire the right to vote.

1886: British Parliament rejects Irish home rule.


1894: Captain Alfred Dreyfus is convicted of treason. 1890: Bismarck is removed from office.  



1900: The Labour Party is established.

1911: The British Parliament Act of 1911 is passed.


Text copyright 1996-2016 by thenagain info All rights reserved.


WebChron Home Introduction Glossary Then Again