timeline of world history

Then Again

The Ancient Period The Peripheral Period

The Center Period

The Global Period

  • Age of World Wars
  • After the Cold War


© David Koeller.  All rights reserved.

The Wars of Religion


  • 1519: Charles I of Spain becomes Holy Roman Emperor as Charles V.
  • 1520: Suleiman the Magnificent becomes Sultan of Turkey.
  • 1521: Hornando Cortes conquers the Aztec Empire.
  • 1524: Peasants Revolt in Southern Germany.
  • 1526: Battle of Mohacs: Ottoman Turks defeat Hungary, capture Buda.
  • 1527: Troops from the Holy Roman Empire sack Rome.
  • 1529: Second Diet of Speyer: The Lutheran minority becomes known as "Protestants."
  • 1533: Pizzaro executes the Inca and claims control of Inca lands.
  • 1534: Anabaptist State at Muenster, led by John of Leiden.
  • 1545: Truce of Adrianople between Holy Roman Empire and Ottoman Turks.
  • 1546: Schmalkaldic War: Charles V against an alliance of Protestant princes.
  • 1555: Peace of Augsburg
  • 1563: Peace of Ambois: Huguenots granted limited toleration.
  • 1566: Calvinists riot in the Netherlands.
  • 1567: Duke of Alba establishes an Inquisition to stop Calvinism in the Netherlands.
  • 1572: Dutch War of Independence begins.
  • 1572: St. Bartholomew's Day Massacre: begins Fourth War of Religion in France.
  • 1579: Union of Utrecht--founding the Dutch Republic.
  • 1587: Mary, Queen of Scots, is executed.
  • 1588: The defeat of the Spanish Armada.
  • 1593: Henry IV of France accepts Roman Catholicism.
  • 1598: Edict of Nantes grants freedom of worship to the Huguenots.
  • ______________________________
  • 1478-1834: Spanish Inquisition


Primary Sources


Secondary Sources

Text copyright 1996-2016 by thenagain info All rights reserved.

WebChron Home Introduction Glossary Then Again